Call for Submissions
Miriam Chaikin Writing Award

Deadline January 15, 2021

The 5th Annual
Miriam Chaikin Writing Award
was established in memory of Miriam Chaikin, a longtime Westbeth resident, former Westbeth Artists Residents Council Literary Chair, and prolific writer.

For Miriam/Molly/Chickie as she was known, the written word and the book were essential to her life and wellbeing. It is in her memory that we seek
to honor a member of the writing community, especially those who live in Westbeth. Writers are encouraged to submit copies of plays, short stories, poetry collections, or other examples of creative writing. Submissions and authors will retain full copyrights to their works. Submissions can be either published or unpublished manuscripts. Authors are encouraged to submit works that have not previously been submitted to this competition.
All submissions will have the authors’ name and any identifying information redacted, and the submissions will be read by a review panel. The review panel, composed of friends and family of Miriam as well as the WARC Literary Chair.

Submit sample works as email attachments to Miriam’s niece, also named Miriam, to

For poetry:
Limited to submission of 15 poems of your choosing (rather than whole book).

For prose: 5,000 words. If extracted from a longer work, a request to have them include an abstract that sets the submission in context.

We will announce the winners by March 1, 2021.

Examples of Miriam Chaikin Foundation Award Winners

The winner of the Miriam Chaikin Writing Award will receive $500 from the Miriam Chaikin Endowment Fund.

Sponsored by Westbeth Artists Residents Council

SHARE:Share on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest